Mobo Winners 2013

Big results for some of our biggest names in Soul, R&B and Hip Hop on Saturday the 19th October, as the Mobo Awards came to Glasgow’s Hydro venue.

English soul chanteuse Laura Mvulva picked up best R&B/Soul Act and Best Female awards with show opener Tinie Tempah picking up the gong for best Hip Hop/Grime Act. The awards are booked to return to Glasgow in 2015, following it’s first showing here in 2009 and then in 2011.

Highlights on a evening packed with them, included a collaboration between Miss Dynamite and drum and bass legend Shy FX, Rudimental doffing their hat to The Fugees (winners at the debut event in 1996) and a rousing run through of So Solid Crew’s 21 Seconds hit at the finale.

Full List of Winners:

  • Best Song: Naughty Boy – La La La
  • Best Album: Rudimental – Home
  • Best Female: Laura Mvula
  • Best Male Act: Wiley
  • Best Newcomer: Krept and Konan
  • Best International Act: Kendrick Lamar
  • Best African Act: Fuse ODG
  • Best Hip Hop/Grime Act: Tinie Tempah
  • Best Reggae Act: Sean Paul
  • Best R&B/Soul Act: Laura Mvula
  • Best Video: Naughty Boy feat. Sam Smith – La La La
  • Best Gospel Act: Lurine Cato
  • Best Jazz Act: Sons of Kemet
  • The ‘BeMOBO’ Award: Baroness Doreen Lawrence, founder of the Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust